Make hay come rain or shine 

There are days when I wake up to beautiful golden particles sneaking into my room

Or a cloudy sky and lovely breeze making its way to me

When mornings are made of tiny droplets that fall on me making me giddy with joy

When I want to dance to music I can hear playing in the air

When I want to sit next to birds and chirp just like them

When I look at the world around me and realise just how perfect it is

When I can sit for hours and let nature’s beauty amaze me

When I need nothing more because the universe’s love completes me in ways indescribable

When everything around is as beautiful as it could be

When I take it for granted that poetry will burst forth without even trying

But for some reason

It does not

Words escape me

Ideas for poems escape me

Fully formed thoughts escape me

I chase after them but nothing falls into my lap

When inspiration I had felt fails to create anything at all

Leaving me dazed and disappointed

And wondering if I had misjudged inspiration.

On such days I decide to dress elegantly and show up anyway

To share the glee I feel within

To flash my awesomely big and crooked smile

To shake my head from right to left and left to right

And write a poem that makes no sense at all

For if anyone is going to play spoilsport, it’s definitely not going to be me

Disappoint you I may, with my silly poems

That jump all over the page and refuse to sit in one place

But dance like a frog I must rather than not dance at all

Laugh uncontrollably I must rather than not laugh at all

Be stupid and silly rather than be nothing at all

Write bad poems rather than not write at all

And share the joy I feel rather than not share at all

Hoping it makes you smile

Dance like crazy

Laugh loudly

Rather than not dance or laugh at all.

5 thoughts on “Make hay come rain or shine 

  1. Congratulations! Your post brought back lots of memories of my first pregnancy. I was so sick I thought I was going to die. (for 9 months) sick everyday….I had a boy.The second time, I felt good, almost all the time….I had a girl.Best wishes for you and your family. I am happy for you!

    Like

  2. Awww…so so so sooo cute!!!!! ❤😂 Very well written; really, really sweet and the dancing words are soooo adorbs!!!! 😃😀😊😊 Lots of love Deepti 😊😊💓💕💞💗💓💕💝💞💕💓💝💞💞💗💖💞💖💖💕💕💞💕💝💓💕💞💖💖❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

