The one about fear

My second attempt at talking about fear, there’s quite a bit of similarity between this and the previous poemΒ but I have tried to make this one more personal. Do you think it’s more relatable?

 

As a milestone birthday approached

The cacophony of voices around me grew louder.

 

Stories of all that people around me had achieved

And a willingness they had shown to follow a path with which everybody agreed.

 

Applause and cheer for sheep that followed the herd

And fear for those that seemed to want to carve a path of their own.

 

This world is not a kind place, I was told

Afraid I needed to be, more so because I was a girl wanting to go out there alone.

 

They asked me not, what I wanted

Or who I aspired to become.

 

But in the garb of love and concern

Nudged me to live a life they could understand.

 

Seeds of fear were sown in my mind

By those who had always held on to it with their dear life.

 

I wondered if my well-wishers were right

And the life I wanted to lead wrought of uncertainty and mountains I could not climb.

 

Youth was on my side

But so was fear that I now felt deep inside.

 

I was afraid of shattering the elaborate castles I had built in my mind

And of finding myself uninspired, exhausted and alone on dark winter nights.

 

I knew giving in to my fears would provide them the oxygen they needed to survive

And let them take over the reins of my life.

 

Fear is a demon created inside our mind

And perpetrated by those not ready to take a path they do not recognise.

 

To get to the place I yearn for I must embrace the uncertainty that is inherent to life

And walk through the dense clouds of fear and doubt.

 

Hold on I must, to faith in my abilities

And the belief that life favours the ones who choose to be brave.

 

Prepared I need to be, to fall down, to get bruised or even completely lose my way

But to not let fear cripple the bastions of my mind.

 

I might have to battle the demon of fear every day for a long time to come

But I cannot afford to let it become the obstacle to which I succumb.

 

To explore the realms of freedom

And traverse the difficult but stunning terrain of life

Courage, usually found hiding in the alleyways of our mind, I need to find.

 

The choice between fear and courage is mine to make

And I would rather fail and die than not try.

 

Let fear be the armour of sheep that wear it with pride

Let them be content with the grassland on which they reside

I was born to climb mountains, to fly into the unknown and to embrace the fullness of life.

 

Bring on the rain, the hail and the storm

Because I was not born to let their fear stop me from becoming the one that marches on

The one that goes on to live while the fearful ones dream on.

2 thoughts on “The one about fear

  1. Totally, totally, totally super awesome, Deepti!!!! πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ’žπŸ’•πŸ’—πŸ’“πŸ’πŸ’žπŸ’–πŸ’–β€β€β€ Although I am like the sheep nowhere near the sight of a milestone, but I really like your choice of words! ❀ If fear is the armor of a sheep, courage it is for others. In my opinion, sadly, life is such a balance of positives and negatives that with age fear reduces, but so does the courage to venture out, something that is the reverse for when we are young, in general. Also, later in our lives do we realize that it’s okay to fail or in practice we must have a Plan B to take our chances. Extremely well articulated and lots and lots of love and success to you!!!!! πŸ’žπŸ’“πŸ’•πŸ’—πŸ’πŸ’žπŸ’ŸπŸ’•πŸ’“πŸ’žπŸ’—πŸ’πŸ’•πŸ’“πŸ’πŸ’—πŸ’žπŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–β€β€β€β€β€β€β€β€β€β€β€β€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for sharing your opinion Tina. Unfortunately I think even if our fear decreases with age, by that time we have managed to pass it on to those younger to us doing much damage in the process. When people want to venture out and do something that needs courage, often they are met with skepticism and fear is reinforced rather than being encouraged. Plan B is important but just as important is to be able to give our absolute best to Plan A.
      Much love to you too πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

