Musings of a cloud

Strolling through the powder-blue skies

I spend my time lazing and wondering about this world as days go by.

 

What a stunning universe I get to be a part of

What a privilege to be alive!

 

I have spent my life exploring the limits and corners of the never-ending sky

And realising that for every corner I discover, there are way more waiting to be found.

 

When I tire of exploring the sky

I gorge on the beauty of the human planet twirling right in front of my eyes.

 

I often carry stories from one mountain to another

And messages from lovelorn souls to their beloveds.

 

Watching these human stories unfold from up here

There’s much I have learnt about human life.

 

The most amusing aspect of it all

Is the control humans tend to think they have over their lives.

 

I wonder if I should call it arrogance or ignorance

Or like them, refer to it as a state of bliss.

 

The decision to keep strolling or go pouring down is never mine

And I get the go-ahead only when the moment arrives.

 

Some days I manage to hide the blazing sun behind my wings

While on most others its rays pierce through me and all I can do is stand by.

 

I could never be certain of what would unfold the next minute

All I know is this moment right now.

 

Humans though, spend much of their lives taking everything they get for granted

Such is the power of surety in their heads that they assume their permission will be sought even before death could arrive.

 

I have watched them fall on their face over and over again

And even though they refuse to learn, it has taught meΒ the value of leading a humble life.

 

So I embrace but take not for granted, both sunshine and moonlight, spring and autumn

Knowing that these are seasons simply passing by.

 

I recognise that I cannot choose the music or the instrument it’s played from

But that is not to say I could not appreciate the skill of the musician behind it all.

 

And so as the music plays, I celebrate my ever evolving existence

Because I know ‘my being’ was not an accident

But a conscious decision taken by the orchestrator of us all.

 

I exist because I add colour to these gorgeous blue skies

Just like humans bring alive the planet in front of my eyes.

 

With gratitude, I accept the insignificant role I play in the scheme of this universe

And revel in being the one thatΒ brings rain and cheer and infuses soil with love and life.

 

But as I continue to stroll through these cheerfully chaotic skies

I fail not to notice that I have managed to pen a poem glorifying myself like the self-important human beings I talk about

And laugh as I realise that humility is a lesson to be learnt anew, every single day of our lives.

3 thoughts on “Musings of a cloud

  1. Beautiful, scenic, surreal, lively and totally refreshing! I so love the way you describe both the tangible and intangible things that we have around us. My imagination takes shape and your words come to life as if I am Tina in Wonderland!!!!! πŸ˜€πŸ˜πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜Šβ€ Also, when an angel says that she’s a human, that’s being humble, after all only angels and birds have wings!!! πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ’žπŸ’–β€β€ Totally loved it and thoroughly cherished it!!!! β€πŸ’•πŸ’“πŸ’–πŸ’žπŸ’—πŸ’πŸ’œπŸ’•πŸ’žπŸ’“πŸ’–πŸ’—πŸ’πŸ’žπŸ’œπŸ’–πŸ’–β€β€β€β€ And…Happy Lipstick Day! XOXO πŸ˜ŠπŸ’žπŸ’•πŸ’πŸ’–πŸ’–β€β€β€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It makes me very happy to hear that reading my poems transports you to a wonderland because part of the aim behind writing poetry is to share with the reader or transport him/her to a world that is beautiful and magical. πŸ™‚ So thank you for letting me know and your kind words, really appreciate them. πŸ™‚
      PS: Lipstick day? Lol I have never heard of that one before!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. LOL! Yaaay 😊😊❀ Even I am not certain of how the day came into being, but lippies apparently have a history and were banned in the UK once upon a time. They has been given a pseudonym ‘little dynamites’ (LOL! πŸ˜€). So, me being a makeup freak am fond of celebrating the day! πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ’žπŸ’•πŸ’—πŸ’πŸ’œπŸ’žπŸ’πŸ’–πŸ’–β€β€β€β€β€

        Like

Leave a Reply

